11th Edition of DJ memorial Photography Contest


The DJ Memorial Photography Contest (DJMPC) is an annual competitive photography contest organized by Lakshmi Machine Works (LMW), Coimbatore, Tamilnadu, India, in memory of its past Chairman and Managing Director Dr.D.Jayavarthanavelu (DJ).


DJMPC 2022 Jury Panel

  • Ganesh H. Shankar is an engineer by profession but nature photographer by passion.
  • He has been honing his craft for the past 25+ years with a focus on creativity and art.
  • He is an artist at work, attempting to capture the various moods of nature in all his elements, mostly using monotones and creative expressions.
  • He loves to explore the mysteries of light, and the mysticism of colors, forms, and shapes.
  • His works have featured in numerous national and international publications.
  • In 2016, he won the prestigious Natural History Museum award in the ‘Behaviour – Birds’ category.
  • https://www.naturelyrics.com/pages/about.html

  • A passionate bird-watcher since the age of 10, Kedar was drawn into the full-time conservation profession in 1996 when he completed his Master’s Degree in Zoology and thereafter obtained a PG Diploma in Management.
  • He has been actively involved in wildlife conservation and environmental protection work for over two decades and has worked with leading environmental NGOs such as WWF-India, TERI, and The Corbett Foundation.
  • He joined The Corbett Foundation in 2009 as the Director, where he has been instrumental in launching and successfully implementing several landscape-level conservation programmes in Uttarakhand, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Assam and Manipur states benefitting various flagship species such as tiger, elephant, great Indian bustard, lesser florican, common leopard, pangolin, sloth bear, etc.
  • He is passionate about conservation photography.
  • He has received the NUFFIC Fellowship of The Netherlands Government in 2009 and 2012.
  • He is a former fellow of the International Visitor Leadership Program 2010 of the US Department of State.
  • He has been serving as a Member of the IUCN Commission on Education and Communication since 2005, and as a Member of IUCN SSC Bustard Specialist Group and a Member of World Commission on Protected Areas since 2013. He also serves as a Member of BNHS Conservation Committee and BNHS Membership and Programme Sub-committee since 2021.
  • He is a visiting faculty at the Amity Institute of Forestry and Wildlife.
  • He has been honoured with IUCN CEC Excellence Award, South & Southeast Asia in 2019; Excellence in Biodiversity Conservation and Environmental Awareness by Think Wildlife Awards in 2018; and 50 Most Impactful Social Innovators Award by World CSR Congress in 2018.

  • Practicing architect from Thrissur, the founder and principal architect of Transform Architects, Thrissur, Kerala .
  • Fine art nature photographer, who has travelled and photographed across the span of India.
  • Director of projects, Photomuse, Museum of Photography, Kerala, India.
  • Awards: Kerala Lalithakala Academy award for photography in 2007.
  • Special mention in Sanctuary Asia magazine wildlife photography awards in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2016.
  • Finalist in BBC wildlife photographer of the year in 2009 and 2010.
  • Nikon Professional Service member since 2018.
  • Nikon India “Expertive” since 2020.